Back to Top
Top Nav Content Site Footer

Slide Rule Dinner lights up the night

April 10, 2017

Nearly 300 students, faculty, staff and alumni attended the 85th Annual Slide Rule Dinner at the DTE Energy headquarters on April 8.

Slide Rule Dinner

This signature event for the College of Engineering & Science celebrates the accomplishments of students and faculty during the academic year.

Fr. Albright who will be retiring at the end of the academic year received the Recognition of Excellence Award for his more than 60 years at University of Detroit Mercy.

Fr. Albright

The winners of this year’s Student-of-the-Year are:

Leo LaBond (Engineering)
Grace Nguyen (Science)

Faculty winners of Teacher-of-the-Year are:

Dr. Nassif Rayess (Engineering)
Dr. Gregory Grabowski (Science)

The 2017 Engineering & Science All-Star winners are:

Joshua Thomson
Haomin Zheng
Joseph Furgal
Darcy McClure
Brendan Mullane
Mark Haider

Congratulations to all of the winners of departmental awards:

  • Christian Schneider (Mathematics and Software Engineering Service Award)
  • Spencer Keashly-Warters (Mathematics and Software Engineering Undergraduate Student of the Year)
  • Sravan Phani Kumar Kopparthi (Mathematics and Software Engineering Graduate Student of the Year)
  • Lauren Man (Biology Department Service Award)
  • Rachel Beltman and Stephanie Fudalla (Chemistry and Biochemistry Department Service Award)
  • Chris Vanoverbeke (Jiunn P. Chiou Memorial Scholarship Award in Mechanical Engineering)
  • Brendan O’Neil (Canjar Design Award in Mechanical Engineering)
  • Anna Rose Periyappurathu (Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Service Award)
  • Viken Yeranosian (Electrical and Computer Engineering Undergraduate Student of the Year Award)
  • Geraldo Isaac and Olivares Salazar (Electrical and Computer Engineering Graduate Student of the Year)
  • Adam Fuchs and Ryan Welsh (Warner Design Award in Electrical and Computer Engineering)

The following are the winners of the student organization awards:

  • Frankie Rider (American Society of Civil Engineers Award)
  • Kaldoun Barawi (Biology Club Service Award)
  • Grace Nguyen (Chemistry Club Service Award)
  • Adam Fuchs (IEEE Student Organization Service Award)
  • Grace Burnside (Society of Women Engineers Service Award)
  • Myron Hampton (Pre-Dentistry Student Club Service Award)
  • Rachel McCready (Pre-Physicians Assistant Service Award)

The winners of the Engineering & Science Student Council Awards are:

  • Sehie Olivia Koh (Linsenmeyer Award for Service)
  • Reem Bazzi (The Joyce E. Patouhas Service Award)
  • Pre-Dentistry Club (E&S Student Council Organization Service Award)
  • Dr. Alexa Rihanna-Aballah (Arthur C. Haman Service Award)
  • Dr. Darrell Kleinke (Cornerstone Award)

And the winner of the Purple Shaft Award for 2017:

Dr. Mark Benvenuto

A very special thank you to all of our partners and sponsors for making the evening so enjoyable:

Dollars for Scholars
TI Automotive
Ford Motor Company
DTE Energy

View photographs from 85th Slide Rule Dinner Dance.

Dancing at the 85th Annual Slide Rule Dinner Dance

Back to Top